Insanity Injury: Continue the programme or start from scratch?

Standard

ImageOuch. Somewhere in between all that squatting, thrusting and mad crazy leaping into the air plyometric stuff, my back has decided to complain. Loudly. One week of Insanity and I’m already injured!

At the end of last week, I reluctantly decided to stop exercising. I’d pulled something at the top of my inner thigh/groin, and my back was starting to grumble about five days of intense back-to-back workouts.

Today, my back is still stiff and sore. Part of me is tempted to do a Plyometric Cardio routine and see if this loosens things up. It probably won’t, though, meaning a few days of Ibuprofen and frustration about breaking the flow of the Insanity programme.

Which brings me to my question for you guys: When I’m fit enough to exercise again, do I

  1. Restart the Insanity programme from scratch, or
  2. Simply pick it up again from where I left off?

Restarting the programme gives me the benefit of doing all Insanity in one block. Presumably there are important benefits to following the full 60-day programme? Picking it up from where I left off would mean less to do, which means I’d finish Insanity quicker.

Which would you do?

3 thoughts on “Insanity Injury: Continue the programme or start from scratch?

  1. When I started, I did a whole week every time I missed a workout. This meant that I rarely missed a workout because it was an incentive not to and also lengthened the programme for me because I didnt want it to end!

  2. That is a tough one. When I got sick during my first four weeks of BBL I just took a day off and then went back to it the next day, but with an injury that is a different story. I had a slight nerve issue in my leg the second week in and I just worked around it by easing up on that side during my workouts. Each time I worked it a little bit more till I got back to normal. If you are really feeling some pain though I would say take the time off and maybe do some stretching. Get back on the horse where you got tossed off and you will probably be better off for it. 😀 Good luck!

  3. I started my 2nd week yesterday and my back SCREAMED at me. Was in a lot of pain (muscle soreness or sharp pain I’m not sure actually). But I pushed through it and will see today if I can do a better job. Guess If I had to fall of I’d start at the beginning of the week I fell off in (eg. if I stopped on the 4th day of week 2, I’d start on the first day of week 2 when I got back on the wagon)

Leave a Reply

