Becoming The Enemy – I’m A Sales Rep

Standard

Oh dear. Innocently, I called in with a potential outlet customer for my first range of picture flashcards.

With a sample pack in hand and a notebook, I approached the counter of the shop to introduce myself. The girl at the checkout asked me who I was and where I was from. After answering, she lifted the phone and called the lady in question:

“There’s a sales rep here to see you”, she says.

What? A sales rep? No, I’m a designer. I’ve designed these cards myself. I just want to…to…..sell them to your shop. And with that came the slow realisation that I have crossed into enemy territory. I am a sales rep. Granted, I’m a sales rep for myself, but that doesn’t make it any better.

Expect to be hanging up on me in the near future….. 

Leave a Reply

